Reviews

Lovely property - Rating 5/5

Lovely property, great hosts and perfect location. Absolutely loved it. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Keith H | Thu 11th Oct 2018 | 1 week ago


Exceeded expectation- Rating 5/5

The setting was excellent and tranquil, a perfect base to explore all North Wales has to offer. Our room was comfortable and warm. They even had a selection of beers including local ones. Breakfast was lovely, much better than we expected. A perfect atmosphere for a break away from home. Truly exceeded expectation.

Reviewer:Susan L | Sun 7th Oct 2018 | 1 week ago


Good value for money - Rating 3/5

We enjoyed our stay very much. The room was great value and the owners were lovely. However the bathroom was a little on the small side which we understand as it is a very old building. I would recommend a stay but don't expect hotel facilities.

Reviewer:Edd N | Sat 6th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


What a great little find- Rating 4/5

We loved where it was situated and the quiet surroundings were very relaxing. It was well maintained and had a lovely garden. The breakfast offerings were good, we had a vegetarian in our group and were all well-catered for. We had a triple room but got an opportunity to see the other rooms, all of which were a good size. We would certainly go again and have no hesitation in recommending it.

Reviewer:Tom Bradley| Fri 5th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


A gem in Snowdonia- Rating 5/5

We were given a warm and friendly greeting upon our arrival and made to feel very welcome. Our room was bright and airy with lovely furnishings befitting of the character of the property. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided and a good selection at that and we particularly loved the fact that cups and saucers were provided as opposed to mugs. The bed was very comfortable and being in the countryside, it was very peaceful. The room was serviced every day. There was a good selection for breakfast, including the traditional Welsh cooked breakfast and all cooked dishes were done to order and we’re generous and absolutely delicious. The decor throughout was utterly charming in our opinion, with all sorts of quirky and delightful objects around. It really was a pleasure to be there in such a lovely place and setting. We really enjoyed our stay and hope to make a return visit.

Reviewer:Tracey L | Thu 4th Oct 2018 | 2 weeks ago


Fantastic and peaceful- Rating 5/5

Located in a quiet and peaceful location. Rooms are well laid out and spacious with lovely views of the garden and surrounding countryside. They were clean and the bed was really comfortable. Slept soundly every night of our 3 night stay. Tea and coffee supplies were plentiful and replenished every day. Owners were very friendly, accommodating and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. Very knowledgeable about the surrounding area. Breakfast was great, with the standard traditional breakfast good and substantial, it will set you up for the day. Highly recommended and will definitely come back again.

Reviewer:Steph B | Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Authentic style - Rating 5/5

The manor is a beautiful country house with a big well kept garden. We stayed in the deluxe double which was very comfortable and had it's own lobby and a big bathroom. Toiletries and tea and coffee were provided, the room even had a Nespresso coffee machine. The place is peaceful and you can sleep in complete silence. You can really appreciate the details and care taken over restoring them in each corner of the building. The breakfast was very nice, freshly cooked with choice of many alternatives.

Reviewer:Albano Laziale| Mon 24th Sep 2018 | 3 weeks ago


Lovely and secluded location- Rating 5/5

We stayed for 4 nights last week. Lovely secluded location, comfy bed, clean rooms, great breakfast with a good choice. Really good base to visit local attractions and beauty spots, including the North Wales coast and National Trust Properties. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:Keith B | Tue 18th Sep 2018 | 1 month ago


From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel special - Rating 5/5

Our short visit was very relaxing. The hotel itself was beautiful, luxurious and the staff where excellent.Sitting in the lounge was really nice on a cold day.

Reviewer:David D | Tue 21st Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


History, charm and elegance with great owners- Rating 5/5

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a fantastic time. It’s perfectly located in the stunning countryside close to Conwy. Very clean room decorated beautifully. We had a very early start one day as we planned to walk Snowdon. The owners provided a continental breakfast for us and even catered for our vegetarian requests. What a lovely place.

Reviewer:Marc W | Wed 15th Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


An idyllic place to get away from it all - Rating 5/5

We stayed for three nights over the Bank Holiday. The rooms and location were great. It's very close to a number of local beaches and perfect for walking.

Reviewer:Brian J | Fri 3rd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


A great stay - Rating 5/5

The room, bed and breakfast were lovely. Great location and superb views. We have booked to visit again.

Reviewer:Giles J | Fri 3rd Aug 2018 | 2 months ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Gwen Borter Manor can only be faulted for one thing, we didn't stay long enough! From the warm welcome when arriving to the friendly farewells on departure, it’s like a home from home. The unique furnishings and decor give a sense of grandeur but it also oozes homeliness. The rooms are comfortable with amazing views over the Welsh countryside. The peace and quiet is amazing. We particularly enjoyed the superb breakfast. Highly recommended for a peaceful retreat.

Reviewer:John N | Sat 28th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


We highly recommend - Rating 5/5

The setting is tranquil and the owners were welcoming and helpful. If you want to stay in a beautiful slice of Victorian Britain look no further. We loved it.

Reviewer:James J | Wed 25th Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Excellent and beautiful house. The staff were always so very helpful and friendly. Would absolutely recommend them and will stay again when we visit next time.

Reviewer:James F | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 2 months ago


The perfect country retreat - Rating 5/5

The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. They're not wrong it really is the perfect country retreat.

Reviewer:Jonathan B | Mon 9th Jul 2018 | 3 months ago


What a beautiful place - Rating 5/5

We keep returning year after year and highly recommend a stay here. The owners are lovely and rooms are decorated to a very high standard.

Reviewer:Sarah W | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 8 months ago


Lovely rural retreat - Rating 4/5

We stayed here for 1 night as we were going to do the zip wire the next day. The room was lovely, clean and tidy with a comfy bed. We had to be up early so we thought we would miss breakfast but they were very accommodating and provided cereals and juice. We would highly recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Nicky S | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


The room and breakfast were outstanding - Rating 5/5

We were thrilled when we turned up, our room was opulent and the owners were lovely. A truly enjoyable stay was topped off by a delicious breakfast. We can't wait to come back next year.

Reviewer:Louise Pringle| Sun 1st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Really lovely place- Rating 4/5

I stayed in the 4 poster which was lovely but on the small side. Well located with amazing surroundings, very quiet and peaceful. The building is just magnificent. You feel like a king in the castle. Staff friendly, charming and very very helpful. The room was well furnished in antique style.

Reviewer:Wilson S | Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Pretty place - Rating 5/5

Situated in a very quiet valley with beautiful surroundings. A very old shooting lodge with history. Rooms good and clean, bathroom on small size but adequate. Breakfast in a lovely room overlooking the garden, food excellent.

Reviewer:Glyn Parry| Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


I will most certainly book this hotel again when in North Wales - Rating 4/5

The service in this place was the best that I've received anywhere in the world. The staff went out of their way to accommodate any request. Very warm and personal. However the downside was the small bathroom. It was lovely but could have done with being a little larger. Apart from that, what a lovely place.

Reviewer:Laura Knowles| Tue 25th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Recommend highly - Rating 5/5

I cannot recommend Gwern Borter Manor highly enough. The service is absolutely second to none and the breakfast is outstanding. Beautiful Snowdonia grounds, would recommend you take a stroll around the grounds.

Reviewer:Erique Y | Wed 8th Feb 2017 | 1 year ago


What a fantastic place - Rating 5/5

My room was lovely and had stunning views over the grounds. I had a great night’s sleep and woke up to a filling breakfast. My only issue was finding it but the wonderful and peaceful location made up for it.

Reviewer:Edd B | Wed 10th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


4.8
Very Good

24 reviews

5
79%
4
17%
3
4%
2
0%
1
0%